Saturday, April 30, 2011

Accepting Submissions May 1st for the Mississippi Valley Poetry Chapbook Contest

The Mississippi Valley Poetry Chapbook Competition will be accepting submissions May 1st through July 31st. This year’s contest has been expanded to include a winner from the national and regional (IA or IL residents) contests. The winners will be announced online in January.

Submissions must be 16 to 24 pages of poetry; manuscripts must be paginated and secured with a binder clip (no staples). No name or identifying information should appear on poems. Cover page should include: chapbook title, author name, address, phone, email and please indicate whether you are submitting to the Regional or National contest. Regional contest submissions must be accompanied by utility bill or driver’s license as proof of residency.

Ann Hudson will serve as the National Judge. Hudson is the author of, The Armillary Sphere, which won the Hollis Summers Poetry Prize. Her poems have been published in literary journals such as, Crab Orchard Review, Iris, North American Review, Prairie Schooner, and The Seattle Review.

Erin M. Bertram will serve as the Regional Judge. Bertram is the author of seven chapbooks, including Inland Sea, which won the 2009 Robin Becker Chapbook Prize, and Body of Water, which won the 2007 Frank O’Hara Award. She is a past recipient of an Academy of American Poets Prize, a Lettre Sauvage Poetry Prize, and two fellowships from Washington University in St. Louis. Her poems have appeared in Hotel Amerika, Copper Nickel, Agni, and The Laurel Review.

There is a $15 reading fee per chapbook with multiple submissions accepted. Please make checks payable to Midwest Writing Center. Payment must accompany submission. For further information please visit:

No comments:

Post a Comment